Kerala Kaumudi Online
Saturday, 04 April 2020 9.50 PM IST

Lionel Messi creates history and wins FIFA Best Men's Player award; Rapinoe secures Women's Player award


MILAN: Argentina and Barcelona captain Lionel Messi won the FIFA Best award for the best football player of 2019. This is the sixth award won by Messi-the most by any player in history. This is his first since he last won the award in 2015.

Messi was the top scorer in the Champions League last season with 12 goals before Barcelona were eliminated by Liverpool in the semi-finals. The Argentine was also the top European scorer with 36 goals and won La Liga title with Barcelona.

Van Dijk, Ronaldo and Messi were the three men's finalists for The Best Player award in a star-studded ceremony in Milan's famous opera house La Scala.

Van Dijk helped Liverpool to the Champions League trophy last season and was the finalist with Netherlands in the Nation’s league.

Since The Best award was created in 2016, the winner has gone on to also lift the coveted Ballon d'Or, which will be unveiled on December 2.

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric won both awards last year to end Ronaldo and Messi's ten-year domination.

Both Messi and Ronaldo have won FIFA's award in different guises five times each.

Ronaldo, 34, scored six goals in Juventus's European campaign, including an incredible treble against Atletico Madrid, before they were eliminated in the quarter-finals.

Ronaldo also won the Nations League with Portugal and his first Serie A title with Juventus.

American World Cup winner Megan Rapinoe won the Best women's player award. Her US teammates Alex Morgan were also in the running along with England's Lucy Bronze. Rapinoe, 34, left France with a Golden Boot and Golden Ball award.


Jurgen Klopp won the prize for the best men’s coach, surpassing Tottenham's Mauricio Pochettino, and Manchester City's Pep Guardiola.

US women's coach Jill Ellis won the best women’s coach surpassing England's Phil Neville and Dutch coach Sarina Wiegman.

Liverpool and Brazil goalkeeper Alisson Becker secured the prize for the best goalkeeper. Manchester City’s Brazilian goalkeeper Ederson and Barcelona’s Marc Andre ter Stegen were also in the running for the prize.

The inaugural FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11 2019 were also announced. Here are the 11 of the very best women football players in different positions

  • Sari van Veenendaal (GK)
  • Lucy Bronze (DEF)
  • Nilla Fischer (DEF)
  • Kelley O’Hara (DEF)
  • Wendie Renard (DEF)
  • Julie Ertz (MF)
  • Amandine Henry (MF)
  • Rose Lavelle (MF)
  • Marta (FW)
  • Alex Morgan (FW)
  • Megan Rapinoe (FW)

The 11 stars that earned a place in the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11 2019 are:

  • Alisson 🇧🇷 (GK)
  • Matthijs de Ligt 🇳🇱 (DEF)
  • Marcelo 🇧🇷 (DEF)
  • Sergio Ramos 🇪🇸 (DEF)
  • Virgil van Dijk 🇳🇱 (DEF)
  • Frenkie de Jong 🇳🇱 (MF)
  • Eden Hazard 🇧🇪 (MF)
  • Luka Modric 🇭🇷 (MF)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo 🇵🇹 (FW)
  • Kylian Mbappe 🇫🇷 (FW)
  • Lionel Messi 🇦🇷 (FW)

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.