Kerala Kaumudi Online
Sunday, 25 September 2022 9.06 PM IST

Mohali T20I: Australia sends India to bat, Pant, Bumrah misses out


MOHALI: Australia Captain Aaron Finch won the toss and sent India to bat in the first T20 international being played at the PCA stadium in Mohali. This is the first match of the three-match T20I series being played between the two sides.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah and wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant are not playing in Mohali. At the same time, Harshal Patel made a comeback after injury. Umesh Yadav, who returned to the Indian squad, is in the playing eleven.

India and Australia have faced each other 23 times in T20Is of which India have registered 13 wins while Australia have won on nine occasions and one match ended in a no result.

“We’re going to have a bowl first. It is about building up to the World Cup, and about getting some information about our boys. Really excited. You expect to be tested, hopefully, some dew comes out. The pitch looks hard and flat. We have one change from our earlier XI, ” Aaron Finch said after winning the toss.

India captain Rohit Sharma said looking at what happened in the Asia Cup, the team had a chance to reflect “on where we went wrong”.

“It is an opportunity to test ourselves. Every game is a big game to learn. We got to learn so much in the last six-eight months on how to win games. This series will be no different for us to express ourselves. Looking at what happened in the Asia Cup, we had a chance to reflect on where we went wrong. This gives us an opportunity to correct ourselves as a group. Nothing changes in terms of our approach. Unfortunately, there are some injuries in the squad. Bumrah is not playing, he will take a game’s break and probably come back in the second and the third game. We have Axar and Chahal. Pant misses out,” said India captain Rohit Sharma after the toss.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik(WK), Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch (C), Cameron Green, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (WK), Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.