Kerala Kaumudi Online
Tuesday, 16 April 2024 7.16 PM IST

IPL 2024: Clinical GT see off SRH, secures seven-wicket win


AHMEDABAD: Crucial knocks from Sai Sudharsan and David Miller helped Gujarat Titans secure a seven-wicket win against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium here on Sunday. This is GT's second win of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season.

Sudarshan made a steady 45 off 36 balls, while David Miller played a rather quick innings by scoring 44 off 27 deliveries despite having a pain in his leg .

Chasing 163, Wriddhiman Saha was off to a flying start by hitting two sixes and a four in the first four overs, making up for Shubman Gill’s slow start. However, Shahbaz Ahmed got Saha on the first ball of the fifth over, when the batter chipped to mid-on.

Gill went from 11 runs in 12 balls to hitting a six and four and reach 36 off 27 deliveries. But his innings came to a close when he lofted a googly from Mayank Markande to long-on to fall for 36 off 28 balls.

GT’s found it hard to score freely in the middle overs with SRH bowlers mixing up deliveries as well as variation in pace to keep Sai Sudharshan and Miller in check.

Sudharsan then brought life to his innings by driving Jaydev Unadkat for four, guiding Pat Cummins by opening the bat face late to get a boundary wide of the diving short-third man and then hit Washington Sundar for another four.

Miller, who had a slow start by scoring 13 off 16 balls before the 16th over began, stuck a four before dancing down the pitch to carve Markande over extra cover for six. Sudarshan then dispatched Markande for another six, before Miller ending the decisive 24-run over by lofting him for another maximum.

Pat Cummins took Sudarshan's wicket, but Miller managed to avoid any late surprises by hitting two fours off Cummins. Vijay Shankar scored back-to-back boundaries before Miller finished off the chase by lofting a six over long-off to give GT a clinical win with five balls to spare.

Brief Scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 162/8 in 20 overs (Abdul Samad 29, Abhishek Sharma 29; Mohit Sharma 3-25, Azmatullah Omarzai 1-24) lost to Gujarat Titans 168/3 in 19.1 overs (Sai Sudharsan 45, David Miller 44 not out; Shahbaz Ahmed 1-20, Pat Cummins 1-28) by seven wickets

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.