Kerala Kaumudi Online
Thursday, 25 July 2024 12.14 AM IST

Blistering innings from Abhishek Sharma, Ruturaj and disciplined bowling power India to 100-run win against Zimbabwe


HARARE: A sensation ton from opener Abhishek Sharma backed by a disciplined bowling by Indian bowlers helped India beat Zimbabwe by 100 runs in the second T20I played here to level five-match series 1-1.

Chasing a massive 235-run target, the hosts lost their opener Innocent Kaia for 4 in the first over as Mukesh Kumar gave India an early breakthrough.

Brian Bennett joined the other opener Wessly Madhevere and batted aggressively hitting three sixes and one boundary but he had to depart soon as Zimbabwe were two down for 40 in 3 overs.

Avesh Khan got the wicket of Dion Myers in the next over for a golden duck and the hosts were at 41/3 in 3.2 overs.

In the same over, Avesh took the important wicket of Zimbabwe captain Sikandar Raza for 4 as they were in trouble at 46/4 in 4 overs.

Just when Zimbabwe tried to fight their way back, off-break bowler Washington Sundar got the wicket of Johnathan Campbell to leave the hosts tottering at 72/5 in 9.4 overs.

From there on, Zimbabwe lost wickets in regular intervals and was bowled out for 135 in 18.4 overs with India registering a 100-run win.

Avesh and Mukesh bagged three wickets each while Bishnoi and Sundar ended up with two and one wicket respectively.

Earlier, India opted to bat first but lost their captain Shubman Gill for 2 as Blessing Muzarabani got his prized scalp with the visitors putting only 10 runs on the board.

Ruturaj Gaikwad joined Abhishek Sharma in the middle and took India beyond the 50-run mark in 8.1 overs.

Abhishek Sharma took an aggressive approach and scored his maiden T20I half-century in 33 balls hitting four boundaries and three sixes.

The Sharma-Gaikwad pair went on to pile up 100 runs for the second wicket in just 64 balls.

Abhishek Sharma went on to smash three consecutive sixes to slam his maiden T20 international ton from just 46 balls.

After scoring the century, Abhishek Sharma got out to Wellington Masakadza's bowling caught by Dion Myers for 100 from 47 with team India at 147/2.

Rinku Singh joined Ruturaj Gaikwad who notched up his fourth T20I half-century in 38 balls.

Gaikwad-Rinku pair partnership added 50 runs for the third wicket in just 24 balls as India crossed the 200-run mark in 18.4 overs.

At the end of 20 overs, India scored a mammoth 234 for 2 in 20 overs.

Brief scores: India 234/2 in 20 overs (Abhishek Sharma 100, Ruturaj Gaikwad 77*, Rinku Singh 48*; Wellington Masakadza 1/29) vs Zimbabwe 134/10 in 18.4 overs (Wessly Madhevere 43, Luke Jongwe 33; Avesh Khan 3/15, Mukesh Kumar 3/37).

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.