Kerala Kaumudi Online
Sunday, 25 February 2024 3.38 AM IST

PM Modi's 'surprise candidate' will give nightmare to Congress in Thiruvananthapuram


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: With the fruitful results from three heartland states in the recently concluded polls, the BJP is more or less assured about winning the next Lok Sabha elections in a canter. Works have already started in the BJP camp for the Lok Sabha elections to be held in 2024. However, this time, BJP leadership is keen on winning not just the heartland states but wants the focus shifted to the south. Earlier after the thumping victory over the northeastern states, PM Modi revealed his next mission to saffronize the southern states, especially Kerala. It is reported that preparations are being made to win supremacy in Kerala in the upcoming elections. The strategy of BJP is to announce candidates as early as possible and cultivate a clout.

The state leadership is preparing a list of three candidates in each constituency. Taking into account the situation of Rahul Gandhi contesting in Wayanad again, the BJP is readying plans to rope in central leaders in Kerala. Currently, Wayanad's seat is for BDJS. The BJP may take this seat and field a prominent union minister. Apart from the central leaders, the names of Shobha Surendran and PK Krishnadas are also being considered.

BJP is targeting six out of 20 seats in Kerala. Suresh Gopi's seat is confirmed in Thrissur. The actor-turned-politician’s work is moving in full swing in Thrissur. Thiruvananthapuram is yet another seat that the BJP keeps a close eye on. Kummanam Rajasekharan, who contested in the last election, was able to secure the second position by securing more than three lakh votes.

This time, the BJP is leaving no chance for Congress to emerge victorious from the capital city. Union Ministers S Jaishankar and Nirmala Sitharaman are being considered as candidates from the constituency.

MT Ramesh and Shobha Surendran are considered for the Kozhikode seat. In Kasaragod, Prakash Babu, PK Krishnadas and Ravish Tantri are options for the BJP to explore. Praful Krishna and K Ranjith are under consideration in Kannur. Anil Antony may be considered for the Ernakulam constituency. Anil Antony's name is also heard in Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency.

PC George is likely to be the NDA candidate from Pathanamthitta. Idukki, Alappuzha and Mavelikara constituencies may be given to BDJS. There is also a plan to field Tushar and give a tough competition in Alappuzha. Former IPS Jacob Thomas is being considered in Chalakudy. Union Minister V Muraleedharan's name was heard earlier in the Attingal constituency.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.
We respect your privacy. Your information is safe and will never be shared.